One thought on “Mariko Tamaki and This One Summer

  1. I’m so glad we were introduced to This One Summer in our class! It’s accessible, engaging, and speaks to the reader like no other novel I know. Regarding Tamaki’s interview, I agree that “you connect with the person that’s most like you” in a book, but I also find that powerful literature also invites me to find connections with people who are not like me at all. That’s one of the benefits of reading. Regarding Tamaki’s blog, she makes a statement about being “cool” that I wish all teens could hear: ” . . .THERE IS NO COOL. It’s an enigma. It’s a publicity tool.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

